Association Service Awards

As a volunteer-based organization, the Association is committed to recognizing the contributions and efforts of members who dedicate their time to the betterment of the Association and broader building regulatory system.

In 2000, the Association established two awards to recognize members for outstanding service and contributions to the Association and broader building regulatory system.  The awards are not given annually, but are instead presented when notable achievement warrants recognition.

Casey van den Broek Award

The Casey van den Broek Award is presented to a member of the association for considerable leadership and service in the field of building safety and code education.

Casey van den Broek was recognized throughout the building industry for his longstanding efforts in building code work and as an educator. Active in all areas of Association business, Mr. van den Broek served as the President of the association during 1991-92.

Jim Robison Award

The Jim Robison award is presented to a member of the association or individual from the building industry for significant contributions to the code development activities and goals of the Association.

Mr. Robison was recognized for his leadership and commitment to the Association and code development.  He served the Association with distinction and he was elected President in 1967-68.

Nomination Forms and Selection Process

Nominations for Association Service Awards are accepted until the end of February each year.  The nomination form for either award can be found HERE.

The nomination form must be signed by two Association members in good standing and detail the nominee’s contributions to the Association and building regulatory system.

The Awards Committee reviews all nominations received before the February deadline and recommends award recipients to the Executive Committee for consideration.

Award recipients are notified after the Executive Committee makes its decision.  Recipients and a guest are invited to attend the banquet dinner at the annual spring conference to receive their award.