Awards & Recognition

The Association maintains two awards programs to increase awareness and access to building and plumbing official qualifications and to recognize Member contributions to the Association.

Association Student Awards


The Association is committed to increasing access to its educational programs and encouraging skilled individuals to become building and plumbing officials.  The Student Awards Program has been developed to support these goals and other stakeholders in the building regulatory system.


A Student Award is comprised of:

  • a level 1 building or plumbing official course
  • one attempt at the exam(s) required for level 1 building or plumbing official qualification
  • one year student membership in the Association

Each Association zone will be allocated one Student Award each year to promote regional equity.  If applications are not received from one or more zones, those awards may be reallocated to candidates from other zones, even if that means that a zone will have multiple award recipients.

Each award is valid for one year unless exceptional circumstances warrant further consideration.


To be eligible to receive an award, an applicant must:

  • be a full-time student in a field of study related to the building construction industry or working in the building construction industry;
  • reside in British Columbia;
  • demonstrate an interest in the building construction industry and desire to pursue a career as a building or plumbing official; and
  • not currently be a qualified building or plumbing official.

Application Form and Selection Process

To be considered for a Student Award, an individual must submit a completed application before the February deadline.  The application must demonstrate how the applicant meets the eligibility criteria.

  • The application form for the Student Awards is found HERE.

The Awards Committee reviews all applications received and selects the award recipients.

Award recipients are notified after the committee decision.

Association Service Awards


As a volunteer-based organization, the Association is committed to recognizing the contributions and efforts of members who dedicate their time to the betterment of the Association and broader building regulatory system.

In 2000, the Association established two awards to recognize members for outstanding service and contributions to the Association and broader building regulatory system.  The awards are not given annually, but are instead presented when notable achievement warrants recognition.

Casey van den Broek Award

The Casey van den Broek Award is presented to a member of the association for considerable leadership and service in the field of building safety and code education.

Casey van den Broek was recognized throughout the building industry for his longstanding efforts in building code work and as an educator. Active in all areas of Association business, Mr. van den Broek served as the President of the association during 1991-92.

Jim Robison Award

The Jim Robison award is presented to a member of the association or individual from the building industry for significant contributions to the code development activities and goals of the Association.

Mr. Robison was recognized for his leadership and commitment to the Association and code development.  He served the Association with distinction and he was elected President in 1967-68.

Nomination Forms and Selection Process

Nominations for Association Service Awards are accepted until the end of February each year.  The nomination form for either award can be found HERE.

The nomination form must be signed by two Association members in good standing and detail the nominee’s contributions to the Association and building regulatory system.

The Awards Committee reviews all nominations received before the February deadline and recommends award recipients to the Executive Committee for consideration.

Award recipients are notified after the Executive Committee makes its decision.  Recipients and a guest are invited to attend the banquet dinner at the annual spring conference to receive their award.