Continuing Professional Development (CPD)

Under the Building Act, all qualified building and plumbing officials must complete continuing professional development, as specified by the Minister, to maintain their qualifications.

Qualified officials are required to complete and report on 10 points of eligible CPD each calendar year (i.e. January 1 to December 31).  Reporting on CPD activities, which includes uploading evidence of attendance, is completed through the Association website.  Further information on how to report CPD points can be found here.

A building or plumbing official may have their required CPD points pro-rated during the year in which they obtain their first qualification.  The pro-rating would occur as follows:

Application Approval Date Number of Required CPD Points
January 1 – March 31 10 points
April 1 – June 30 7.5 points
July 1 – Sept 30 5 points
October 1 – December 30 2.5 points

Ministerial Order No. M071 (specifying CPD requirements)

National Occupational & Training Standards:

Occupational Standards:

Professional Municipal Building Officials: