Consultation on 2025 National Model Codes

The Canadian Commission on Building and Fire Codes (Commission) is currently developing the 2025 editions of the national model codes.

As part of this process, the Commission is inviting code users and stakeholders to review proposed changes to the 2020 editions of the following national model codes:

  • National Building Code of Canada (NBC) 2020
  • National Fire Code of Canada (NFC) 2020
  • National Energy Code of Canada for Buildings (NECB) 2020
  • National Plumbing Code of Canada (NPC) 2020

This national public review runs until December 23, 2022.

Details about the proposed code changes can be found under the summary of proposed changes section at the bottom of the Commission website. The proposed changes include updates to the documents referenced in the national model codes.

The relevant Commission standing committees will review comments received during the public review period. Based on their evaluation of the comments for each proposed change, the committees will then either withdraw the proposed change, recommend that it be reviewed further for possible re-submission in revised form in a future public review, or recommend that it be approved, with or without modification. If approved, the code changes will be incorporated in the 2025 editions of the national model codes.

Accessibility Standards Canada Public Review

In addition to development of the National Model Codes, standards development organizations and other partners are working to advance accessibility in the BC Building Code.

Accessibility Standards Canada is holding a public review of its draft model standard for the built environment – accessibility. The B.C. government is reviewing this standard and may consider adopting portions in future BC Building Codes. Your feedback will be valuable to confirm the requirements are clear, technically accurate, and remove barriers to accessibility at the design and construction stage.

The public review is open from November 8, 2022, to January 7, 2023. To participate, please visit the Accessibility Standards Canada website.